Product Review: Gluten Free Baguettes by Newburn Bakehouse

I haven’t had a baguette for about three years, so you can imagine my delight when I discovered that Newburn Bakehouse (aka Warburtons) had started making gluten free baguettes. Now once you’re done imagining that, take it up a notch because they actually look, smell and taste just as a baguette should!

Newburn Bakehouse Gluten Free Baguettes
Newburn Bakehouse Gluten Free Baguettes

I was sold on these baguettes when I first opened the bag and was struck firmly in the face by the scent of freshly baked bread – something no other gluten free baked products seem to possess by the time they reach the shops. Granted this must have been achieved by some sort of kitchen wizadry, no doubt involving copious amounts of additives, chemicals and other unmentionables but lets not think about that lest it ruin the moment.

The insides of the baguette are not bad at all, the same sort of taste and texture as normal gluten free rolls. The outside is just magic, though – all chewy and shiny and delicious. Newburn Bakehouse have also clearly spent a great deal of time perfecting the look of this product too because if you hadn’t told me it was gluten free I would never have realised. It’s a work of art.

Look at me! I am beautiful.
Look at me! I am beautiful.

All in all not as good as a real gluten full baguette, but definitely closer than any other product on the free from market at the moment. The price isn’t as horrendous as I was expecting either, Newburn Bakehouse baguettes are £2.35 for two at Tesco’s.

8/10

logo

View the full Newburn Bakehouse range here.

Leave a Reply

