The Free From Bakehouse, Borough Market

Borough Market is a treasure trove of foodie wonders, even if you’re a gluten hater such as I. The trophy for most gluten free friendly stall, though, must go to the amazing Free From Bakehouse – where there ain’t a gluten infested crumb in sight!

The Free From Bakehouse
The Free From Bakehouse

The Free From Bakehouse stocks exclusively homemade gluten free (and some dairy free & vegan) sweet and savoury treats, from gooey and indulgent cakes to moreish jalapeno muffins and cute little GF gingerbread folk.

I can’t get enough of peanut butter of late, (seriously, I’ve been eating it with a spoon and I’m not even ashamed) so naturally my eye was drawn to the peanut butter and white chocolate blondies a smiley gluten free lady was pushing my way. N.B. She might not actually have been pushing them, that part was probably in my mind. They come in little snack bags, or as a big old slab of blondie which will set you back £2.50.

Look at me. Am I not beautiful?
Look at me. Am I not beautiful?

OK so it’s fairly expensive for a treat, but it’s not often you see an entire stall full of gluten free foods that you can dive into with wild abandon, safe from the fear of gluten demons lurking behind any supposed safe snack. And that makes £2.50 absolutely fine by me!

As it turns out £2.50 was even more fine by me when I finally got home and launched myself into this paper bag of greasy peanut buttery goodness. It was wonderful. An epiphany, if you will. And don’t think I’m getting carried away here – you haven’t tried it. You don’t even know. I’m salivating just writing this, I tell you.

Gluten Free? Yes, yes, yes!

The Verdict: See above

10/10 (Full Marks, Absolutely Brilliant, I Am Head Over Heels, Truly, Madly, Deeply In Love)

560111_361299323981314_16109795_n

Leave a Reply

