Product Review: Stowaways

I don’t like ready meals. I don’t think anyone really does. But there comes a time when you need food and you need it now and cooking is just not an option. And for those times you need something that isn’t filled with salt and lard and possibly horses. Something healthy and nutritious and, most importantly, gluten free. So you probably need Stowaways.

 

 

 

Stowaways-logo

 

 

Stowaways was not a brand I had heard of, because they are aimed at more nautical types than I who need ready meals when off on their yachts and such like. I have no yacht, but when they contacted me to let me know that many of their dishes are gluten free I thought I’d give them a try anyway.

Their gluten free range is quite impressive, with a host of veggie and meaty dishes to keep us happy when on a boat, or not on a boat, as the case may be. The gluten free options are:

Chunky Vegetable Chilli
Coq au Vin
Chicken Balti Saag
Chilli Con Carne
Lancashire Hotpot
Carrot and Coriander Soup
Tomato and Basil Soup

 

photo 2

photo 3

 

I was sent a selection of their gluten free meals to try, and can report that they aren’t half bad (for a ready meal). I particularly enjoyed their coq au vin, which was more like a hearty soup full of bits of meat and veg than the traditional dish, but delicious all the same. The tomato and basil soup too was a perfect office luncheon, and perfectly healthy too.

 

photo 1-1

 

The chicken balti went down very well with both me and the gluten-loving boyfriend, showing that these meals aren’t just for us allergy-ridden folk! They are food that just happens to be gluten free, which I think is never a bad thing.

 

photo 3-1

Sorry about the terrible photography...
Sorry about the terrible photography…

 

If you would like to give Stowaways a try visit their website where you can order products online, or buy a yacht, where presumably you can feast on Stowaways all day every day.

 

7/10

stowawayfoods.com

Leave a Reply

