Gluten Free Italian at Cotto’s Italian, Lambeth North

Imagine, for a moment, an Italian restaurant where everything is gluten free. The homemade bread, the pizza, the pasta, the meat dishes. Everything. Sounds too good to be true, and yet it isn’t. It EXISTS.

photo

This absolute gem of a restaurant is called Cotto’s, and is situated just opposite Lambeth North station (walking distance from the Southbank).

photo 2

The menu is ridiculously big, and ridiculously good. The staff are also ridiculously friendly in that way that all staff in Italian restaurants that aren’t chains seem to be, and they’ve got that novelty over-friendly owner marching about the place ordering people to finish their food. (He did this – I was too stuffed. I couldn’t handle it so he let me take half a pizza home with me).

photo 2-1

I was impressed right from the start, when I declined the house bread and was immediately asked if it was because I was gluten free. I said yes and they quickly brought along fresh, hot, homemade GF bread. I couldn’t believe it. These things make me so happy.

Gluten Free Bread
Gluten Free Bread

Boy had the gluten-full calzone which he loved, and I had a gluten free meaty pizza with bolognese and pepperoni on. And it was great.

Gluten Free Pizza
Gluten Free Pizza
Gluten Full Calzone
Gluten Full Calzone

The entire bill came to just £40 for two mains, nibbles and half a bottle of wine. Not bad at all.

The Verdict: Absolutely brilliant. FIVE STARS.

10/10

££

Italian Cotto on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

