Gluten Free Pizzas at Rossopomodoro, Covent Garden

I’m not usually one for the chain restaurants – especially in London when there are so many independents to choose from, but I made an exception for Rossopomodoro last week. And I’m pretty glad I did.

 

rossopomodoro-1

 

Rossopomodoro has six London branches and one Birmingham outpost, and they’re all about authentic Neapolitan cuisine. So much so that all ingredients are imported from Naples – even the flour they use in their pizza bases!

 

rossopomodoro-4

 

rossopomodoro-5

 

My main reason for going was their newly launched gluten free pizzas, so off I trotted to the rather hectic Covent Garden branch to give them a try.

 

rossopomodoro-6

 

We began the meal with Prosciuttina (£3.95) – cubed parma ham marinated in oregano, chilli, garlic and Sorrento olive oil. The perfect pre-pizza nibble.

 

Prosciuttina
Prosciuttina

 

For the main event I went with the gluten free Capricciosa (£11.45) – tomato sauce, mozzarella, mushrooms, ham, artichokes and black olives. I’ve tried many a gluten free pizza in my time but none have ever impressed me as much as this one did – thin, crispy and totally addictive, I surprised myself by almost wolfing down the entire thing…

 

Capricciosa-rossopomodoro
Capricciosa

 

rossopomodoro

 

Boy opted for the Santagata Calzone (£10.95) – mozzarella, Neapolitan salami and buffalo ricotta cheese topped with tomato sauce, which received rave reviews too.

 

Santagata-Calzone
Santagata Calzone

 

rossopomodoro-10

 

The Verdict: The service wasn’t faultless, and the atmosphere could’ve been a *little* more relaxing, but  if you’re looking for a great gluten free pizza in London town I’ve got one word for you… Rossopomodoro.

 

9/10 

 

Gluten Free: Rossopomodoro offer pizzas with no gluten containing ingredients (NGCI). They do state, though, that they can’t guarantee a 100% flour-free environment, so no pizzas can be guaranteed to be free from gluten traces. Full details here.

 

Rossopomodoro on Urbanspoon

Square Meal

Leave a Reply

